2014 All Ireland Championship

Posted on: October 16th, 2014



 2014 All Ireland Championship


Lucan BMX Track, St. Catherines Park, Lucan, Co Dublin


21 September 2014




The 2014 All Ireland BMX National Championships took place on the 21st September hosted by Lucan BMX Club at their fantastic new facility in St. Catherines Park in Lucan. The All Ireland National Championships is the single biggest one day race in Irish BMX and the National Champion Title is the next most coveted title after the No.1 Plate of the National Series.


This year’s All Ireland National Championship attracted 98 entrants and was another hugely successful event. Ireland’s top riders from 4 years old to 50 years old battled it out across 11 different classes in the Challenge category and 3 different classes in the Championship Category.



The racing was fast and furious, with both male and female categories racing for the glory of All-Ireland Champion.   The main spectacle of the day was the Masters 30+ category, which had Ireland’s very own World BMX Champion, Kelvin Batey competing.  Kelvin, as expected, went on to win the main event, rounding off for him a great year for both National and International honours.


The event also played host to visiting dignitaries from Larne Borough Council and Lisburn City Council in Co. Antrim.  Both Councils are planning to develop their own BMX tracks, so representatives were sent to watch the largest gathering of BMX racers on the island and see the wondereful facility at St. Catherine’s Park.


The day rounded off with the presentations, where President of Cycling Ireland, Mr. Dennis Tomey, was on-hand to present the awards to the successful competitors.


The Cycling Ireland BMX Commission would like to thank Fingal County Council for having the vision to facilitate such a high standard track in the beautiful St. Catherine’s Park and to ‘Leader’ for funding the project along with all our sponsors and independent fundraisers. We would also like to thank our hosts Lucan BMX club for running another top class event and for the generous support of Tom Campbell and Reconcile Engineering for designing, manufacturing and supplying the brilliant one off trophies.






In the Challenge Class the results….


Boys under 6 was a close battle all day with Callum Dunleavy taking an alternative route to the other riders in the early motos but recovering well to take the win from Aaron Larkin who got the lead but slipped his pedals, Evan Fynes was also in the hunt and Carly Hayes was showing the boys who the real boss is. Elliot Kelly, the Lucan Club Mascot did fantastic in his first race even taking a 2nd in his first ever moto, Rocco Thomas just up from striders is also one to watch.


The Boys 7’sJames Woods dominated the race but the battle for 2nd could have been won by any rider with Tommy Campbell taking it from Scott Ryle .


Corey Waller, out in front again took the Boy’s 8’s from Callum Clancy and Charlie Jackson.


In the Boys 9’s Rueben Byrne emerged form the ambulance to take the win in a very close battle with Jake Nally. Daniel Roban took the 3rd spot.


Boys 10’s was super close all day and very dramatic with a number of crashes, Niall Davis taking the win from Aaron Masterson-Weir and Calvin Dunne.


Boys 11’s was won by the super smooth Morgan Kearney form Cian O’Sullivan and Zach Costello in third.


The Boys 12’s class won by Daniel Barker in a dominant display, wining all races from a very close battle between Ronan Phibbs and Jack Larkin.





Girls Under 7 was won by Chloe Byrne form Skyla Nally and Carly Hayes who was also racing he boys today.


Girls 8-10  was won by Jade Gaffney  from Shauna Byren and Charlotte McGuffin in her 1st race.


Girls 11-14 was won by Abby Steacy from Caitlin Gaffney and Andrea Clancy who was battling with Kirsty McGuffin and Jasmine McConnell, also in their 1st race.


Vets 40+ was a very very close battle all day with Ian Hamilton narrowly getting it from Tom Campbell with Eugene Jackson in third.  Shay McNally also made a rare appearance on the start gate.



In the Championship Class the results …


Junior Men provided the most spectacular racing of the day with defending Champion Eoin Corrigan taking the win from Matthew Malone and Jake Lynch. These guys are all getting faster by the day.


2014 All Irelands – Jr Men from Lar on Vimeo.



Junior Women was won by KT O’Neill from Kate Larkin and Ciara Williams who was very unlucky. KT normally races the boys and I’ll bet most the Junior Men were delighted she was back racing the women.


Masters 30+ was merged with Elite Men. New kid on the block Kelvin Batey was way ahead all day, this lad has a bright future. Eamonn Wyer and Joey O’Neill followed not so close behind.








You can download the full set of results HERE.


Download the Event Guide HERE.


Thanks as always to the guys who make us look good, this time it was Anthony Connor out taking great photos. You can see the full set HERE on facebook.









Comments are closed.